4 things I didn’t know about Experience Editor

As a developer, I tend to not pay too much attention to certain parts of Sitecore. Some of those parts are the functionalities available on the Experience Editor. Here I share four things I recently learned about the Experience Editor.

I am currently taking the Sitecore® Web Experience Management eLearning. This eLearning is designed for content authors who want to learn about Sitecore content editing features. It is helping me to see how “normal people” use Sitecore.

Let’s go to my list of 4 things I didn’t know about Experience Editor

1. You can see where else an associated content is being used

Let me start by saying what an associated content is. Associated content is the content on a page that originates from another item. For a developer, it is simply the data source item that you set on a rendering (or a sublayout).

Usage (1)
Figure 1: Associated content usage in the floating toolbar

Do you see that “Usage: 3” showing up in the floating toolbar? That indicates the number of places that use the same associated content. It helps you to see which pages will be affected if you change a field of that associated content.

If you click on “Usage: 3”, it opens the Associated content dialog box showing you the path of the items that are using the same associated content.

Usage (2)
Figure 2: Associated content dialog box

2. You can highlight all the components that have associated content

On the ribbon, on the View tab, check the option Associated content.

Associated content highlight (1)
Figure 3: Checking the option Associated content on the ribbon

Now every rendering with an associated content will have a dotted green border around it.

Associated content highlight (2)
Figure 4: Renderings with an associated content are highlighted

This is very handy if you are trying to find renderings that actually has a data source configured.

3. You can change the workflow state for the associated content

I liked this feature because I don’t need to switch back to the Content Editor or Workbox in order to have the data source item workflow approved.

workflow (1)
Figure 5: Changing the workflow state of the associated content

4. You can compare the difference between versions of the current page

I thought it was only possible through the Content Editor, but as it turns out, it is also available on the Experience Editor.

On the ribbon, on the Versions tab, click Compare.

Compare (1)
Figure 6: Compare button on the ribbon

This will open the Compare Versions dialog box. You select which versions you want to compare and it will highlight the differences for you.

Compare (2)
Figure 7: Compare Versions dialog box

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s